Suppressing a PS90 without SBR

Forum for discussing NFA firearms and accessories such as suppressors, SBR and full-auto goodies.
Pralix

Suppressing a PS90 without SBR

Post by Pralix » 03 Apr 2011, 08:52

I live in WA state and it looks like we will be able to both own and use a suppressor here. Back in 1994, the state legislature banned SBRs. I am wondering if there is a way to keep the 16" barrel yet have a suppressor that doesn't look funky sticking out at the end. I am not an expert on suppressors by any means but had an idea of a new barrel shroud and barrel that was ported and a custom suppressor would screw over that. In the end it would look like any other PS90 SBR with a suppressor. I'm not even sure that it is possible to port such a small caliber barrel.

Any thoughts on this?

Rapier1772
Global Moderator

Re: Suppressing a PS90 without SBR

Post by Rapier1772 » 03 Apr 2011, 12:17

You know the PS90 is actually a barrel within a barrel right? Porting that would be very tricky (I would think). I am trying to imagine what you are describing and it certainly sounds funky, no idea on if it is even possible (with $$ reason)

You might try PMing romer522. He lives in WA and seems to be fairly knowledgeable about what is going on up there, including NFA items such as suppressors.
Last edited by Rapier1772 on 03 Apr 2011, 15:12, edited 1 time in total.
Contrary to popular belief, you CAN fix stupid - it's just illegal.
Tactical Search Instructions & tips: http://www.fivesevenforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=12045

Esteves
Wiki Moderator
custom title: Shhh!

Post by Esteves » 03 Apr 2011, 14:04

Various people have talked about integral suppressors for the PS90, but no one has produced one yet.

Another approach was discussed in this thread viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1187&hilit=shorter" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Basically, the SBX-style shroud allows the carbine to avoid the SBR classification, and the suppressor fits inside the shroud.