Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post administration questions here
Forum rules
1) Membership at FiveseveNForum is a privilege, not a right. We reserve the right to deny service to any person at anytime without cause.

2) Do unto others as you would have them do unto you; NOT before they do unto you.

3) No posting derogatory comments or images of a racial, religious, or sexual/pornographic nature. This includes your user name, signature line, and title. Site Staff shall reserve the right to edit these items and to remove your ability to modify them in the future.

4) We will NOT tolerate the posting of illegal modifications or purchase of firearms.

5) Discussions on how to illegally acquire AP ammunition, manufacture AP ammunition, or alter standard ammunition to become AP are prohibited.

More here: http://www.fivesevenforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=125" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Post Reply
towerofpower93
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Sep 2009, 16:43

Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by towerofpower93 » 11 Sep 2014, 14:55

Not sure if this is a forum issue or something goofy with my internet connection, but for some reason I can't get on the forum by way of a computer, iPad or iPhone on my wifi network. I'm accessing it via 3G right now without issue.

Any idea what the issue could be? Was my IP blocked for some reason?

Thanks

Eric

User avatar
Rapier1772
Global Moderator
Posts: 12151
Joined: 20 Aug 2008, 09:00
Location: American Falls, ID

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by Rapier1772 » 11 Sep 2014, 15:52

You're not banned or blocked.
We just found out that another member is having problems with signing on & has been all week, how long has yours been screwed up?
Advice to the other guy (we don't know if he's tried it yet) was to clear his cookies & try to sign on again. I'm curios if the two of you have something in common with whatever it is you're running.
Contrary to popular belief, you CAN fix stupid - it's just illegal.
Tactical Search Instructions & tips: http://www.fivesevenforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=12045

User avatar
blueorison
Competition/Training Mod
Posts: 10628
Joined: 11 Apr 2009, 14:28
custom title: UT/EA Pistol Captain
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by blueorison » 11 Sep 2014, 16:23

I just checked with Greenberg; same thing.

Can't access from tablet or pc, work or home, only can access from phone.
Never attribute to malice that which can be explained by stupidity.
The shooter will always matter more than the gear ever will.
Stop relying on others to do the work for you.
Shoot more, worry less.

towerofpower93
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Sep 2009, 16:43

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by towerofpower93 » 11 Sep 2014, 16:34

Rapier1772 wrote:You're not banned or blocked.
We just found out that another member is having problems with signing on & has been all week, how long has yours been screwed up?
Advice to the other guy (we don't know if he's tried it yet) was to clear his cookies & try to sign on again. I'm curios if the two of you have something in common with whatever it is you're running.
It's been about a week. I'll try a power cycle on the router and give it a go after that.

Buffman
Silver Member
Posts: 2883
Joined: 12 Jan 2009, 22:48
Location: SW Michigan
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by Buffman » 11 Sep 2014, 18:54

open command prompt

nslookup http://www.fivesevenforum.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

should return
99.172.28.101

It's possible you all are using DNS servers with incorrect info?

I've noticed over the last few weeks that the forum seems slower to access and make posts.

User avatar
grimmond
Gold Member
Posts: 483
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 14:27
Location: Washington

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by grimmond » 11 Sep 2014, 21:37

There is a lot of issues that have recently popped up. Sometimes my desktop will also give me the following issue. I have a T-Mobile cell Samsung Galaxy S5 that after the last android update will no longer allow me access with the native browser. Now only the google chrome app will give me access, but says there are multiple issues with the security certificates not being from a trusted or known source ad gives warnings if I continue to the site. It also says that the connection is not private, "attackers might be trying to steal your information from http://www.fivesevenforum.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;". If I click on advanced it then says, " you attempted to reach http://www.fivesevenforum.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;, but the server presented a certificate issued by an entity that is not trusted by your computers operating system. This may mean that the server has generated its own security credentials, which Chrome cannot rely on for identity information, or an attacker may be trying to intercept your communications."

With everything I have seen and tried it always seems to come back to the security certificate not being accepted by the servers in between or the individual system. As of this moment there is no fix I am told to my phone because it is the forums certificate that is the issue. With my home I was able to reroute my router through a different DNS, but android users are stuck with whatever program or cell provide mandate.
"Let us never forget that good intelligence saves American lives and protects our freedom."
-Ronald Reagan

User avatar
jgreenberg01
Platinum Member
Posts: 3736
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 14:32
custom title: FNP-45 Cylon
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jgreenberg01 » 12 Sep 2014, 04:37

I hadn't been able to get in for over a week until Buffman (thanks dewd!) gave me the 99.172.28.101 address. When I ran nslookup from home - Comcast is my ISP - it came back with:

67.222.132.198 responded in 281 milliseconds - ns1.elliotthosting.com is the host

I don't remember who the ISP is at work (not Comcast), but I couldn't get on there either. I tried Firefox, Chrome and IE (cleared all history, cookies, etc.). I tried all of them on several different WiFi connections. The only way on was through my phone on 4G.

Very strange.
0100001101101111011011010110010100100000011000010110111001100100001000000111010001100001011010110110010100100000011010010111010000101110

User avatar
grimmond
Gold Member
Posts: 483
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 14:27
Location: Washington

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by grimmond » 12 Sep 2014, 07:12

When I ran ran that Buffman from my laptop which is accessing the web site it returns" request to unknown timed out". It also shows server unknown and an address of 2001:558:feed::1
"Let us never forget that good intelligence saves American lives and protects our freedom."
-Ronald Reagan

Buffman
Silver Member
Posts: 2883
Joined: 12 Jan 2009, 22:48
Location: SW Michigan
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by Buffman » 12 Sep 2014, 10:38

^^ Hmm who is your ISP

User avatar
grimmond
Gold Member
Posts: 483
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 14:27
Location: Washington

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by grimmond » 12 Sep 2014, 15:23

I have Comcast as my ISP. The odd thing is Comcast tells me that I do not have IPV6 access yet, but that is definitely returning an IPV6 address. I am some what computer savvy but on the IT side of things not so savvy. I went to OpenDNS and used their settings so that I was able to connect to the forum from my laptop again. Using the server settings that Comcast assigns I lose access.
"Let us never forget that good intelligence saves American lives and protects our freedom."
-Ronald Reagan

User avatar
jmz5
Site Admin
Posts: 11105
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 21:26
custom title: Proprietor
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jmz5 » 12 Sep 2014, 19:06

I'll send another e-mail to my host, but I haven't had any issues with any of my devices.
كاف

User avatar
jmz5
Site Admin
Posts: 11105
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 21:26
custom title: Proprietor
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jmz5 » 13 Sep 2014, 04:30

Try logging in again, my host made some DNS changes that might help.
كاف

User avatar
jgreenberg01
Platinum Member
Posts: 3736
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 14:32
custom title: FNP-45 Cylon
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jgreenberg01 » 13 Sep 2014, 04:51

Whatever they did - it worked, I can sign on normally again!
0100001101101111011011010110010100100000011000010110111001100100001000000111010001100001011010110110010100100000011010010111010000101110

towerofpower93
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 Sep 2009, 16:43

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by towerofpower93 » 13 Sep 2014, 04:56

The power cycle night before last did nothing, but whatever the host did fixed it right up. Able to access via wifi on Comcast Internet now.

Thanks for all the help

Eric

User avatar
grimmond
Gold Member
Posts: 483
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 14:27
Location: Washington

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by grimmond » 13 Sep 2014, 09:12

That worked to access it from the standard software on my cell. :D The odd thing is that Chrome on my cell is still returning a site security cert error but allows me to continue to the site anyway. :ponder: Chrome on my laptop works just fine with no security error. :ponder: Either way doesn't matter now because we all have access. :clap:
"Let us never forget that good intelligence saves American lives and protects our freedom."
-Ronald Reagan

User avatar
jmz5
Site Admin
Posts: 11105
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 21:26
custom title: Proprietor
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jmz5 » 13 Sep 2014, 13:45

Try deleting your cookies on chrome on your cell, that should do it.
كاف

User avatar
grimmond
Gold Member
Posts: 483
Joined: 15 Dec 2012, 14:27
Location: Washington

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by grimmond » 14 Sep 2014, 09:57

I'm good with access but if anyone is using just Chrome they may be running into this. I Deleted the cookies like you said but it did not help. I have no problem accessing the forum with my various devices. But using chrome on all of them returns the same message that it is not a secure connection and that the certificates could not be validates to be trusted. Other browsers receive a secure connection. I'm not sure why only chrome is not able to verify the certs. I tried digging through the settings on chrome to see if there is a way to fix the validation issue but could not come up with anything.
"Let us never forget that good intelligence saves American lives and protects our freedom."
-Ronald Reagan

MikeSantor
Gold Member
Posts: 1142
Joined: 10 Apr 2011, 16:58
Location: FEMA Region 5

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by MikeSantor » 16 Sep 2014, 16:31

I have been trying to access this site for months and every time I would try to load it I would get an error. This went on for months and months. I tried probably 20 times over the past 3 months.

Just now I decided to head over to EAs site to see what cool edit they were up too. after browsing there I saw a link for FSF and decided to give it w try and BAM it worked. This is the first time I have been able to get on.

I never tried from my phone though. Always from firefox via the actual URL or by googling FSF then using the google link. it would always just fail to load.









Sup, Yo?

User avatar
jmz5
Site Admin
Posts: 11105
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 21:26
custom title: Proprietor
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by jmz5 » 16 Sep 2014, 17:44

Jeepers Mike, you should have emailed me!
كاف

User avatar
blueorison
Competition/Training Mod
Posts: 10628
Joined: 11 Apr 2009, 14:28
custom title: UT/EA Pistol Captain
Contact:

Re: Can't access via wifi, but can from the cell network???

Post by blueorison » 16 Sep 2014, 20:39

MikeSantor wrote:I have been trying to access this site for months and every time I would try to load it I would get an error. This went on for months and months. I tried probably 20 times over the past 3 months.

Just now I decided to head over to EAs site to see what cool edit they were up too. after browsing there I saw a link for FSF and decided to give it w try and BAM it worked. This is the first time I have been able to get on.

I never tried from my phone though. Always from firefox via the actual URL or by googling FSF then using the google link. it would always just fail to load.




MIKE!

What's up!! I missed ya!!! :)

Sending you a PM




Sup, Yo?
Never attribute to malice that which can be explained by stupidity.
The shooter will always matter more than the gear ever will.
Stop relying on others to do the work for you.
Shoot more, worry less.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest